Hot Perkins action

I decided to go to the bookstore in person and talk to Ella about the conversation with my mother that I described in the last post. I asked Ella if Mom had come by the store, and Ella said she hadn’t.

“OK,” I said. “So, remember how we went to Perkins last weekend, after, you know, getting rid of the undead warlock trying to take over my soul?”

“Yes, I remember Perkins,” she said with a mixture of mirth and bewilderment. “And Brand was only going to take over your body. I’m sure he would have just devoured your soul.”

“Oh. Thanks. Anyway, I was talking to my mom about it…”

“Your mother knows about Brand?”

“No, just the part about going to Perkins.” I explained the situation basically the same way I did in the last post.

“Oh,” said Ella, still amused-confused. “Well, I guess I was thinking more about your psychological well-being than…um…”

“Exactly,” I said. “I mean, it would be different if we, you know, set it up in advance…”

“Right.”

“Like, ‘hey, after we send this evil spirit back to Hell, let’s get some homestyle meatloaf and apple dumplings.'”

“Those apple dumplings were pretty good.”

“Dudes! Are you talking about Perkins?” It was Ingrid, carrying a stack of three books.

“Ingrid! You’re here?” I said. She held up the books with a “hel-lo” kind of expression. I asked if she had heard about Perkins from Ella.

“Nah, I started reading your blog,” said Ingrid. “Mr. Tapes-her-words-to-snare-drums.”

“You read the blog and you’re interested in Perkins?” I said.

“I’m thinking it was a date,” said Ingrid. “Reminded me of the first time my hubby and I got together.”

“Oh, is this about Perkins?” It was Miriam, approaching with her usual smile. “A couple of little birds told me about that.”

“A couple?” I said.

“It was so cute – Annabelle asked if you played hide-and-seek.”

“Huh?”

“You know, like a play date.”

“Oh. Wait a minute – Annabelle wants to know about Perkins?”

“It really wasn’t a date,” said Ella.

“Ha,” said Ingrid. “Let me show you Captain Horndog’s blog.” Ingrid joined Ella at the computer behind the counter and opened up this blog. Miriam looked at the monitor while Ingrid scrolled down.

“Wait a minute,” said Miriam, “what’s that about…”

“Oh, that’s not the good stuff,” said Ingrid. She looked over at me. “I like how you got your catchphrase from a three-year-old, by the way.” She returned her attention to the computer. “OK, read that.”

Miriam did so. “Gosh, I guess I wouldn’t call that a date,” she said.

“Dude!” said Ingrid. “Look at what this guy’s saying!” She proceeded to quote me: “‘”I think that’s a good idea,” I responded, in a voice I tried to make sound casual but slightly flir-ta-tious.'”

“Yes, I remember the, ah, ‘flirty’ voice,” said Ella. She covered her mouth but not before I saw her grinning.

“But Ella’s intent wasn’t a date,” said Miriam.

“Intent should be part of the definition of a date,” said Ella.

“You guys, come on!” said Ingrid. “And put ‘come on’ in bold italics, Mr. Blogger Man.”

Despite Ingrid’s vehemence, we weren’t able to bring her around to the majority opinion.

Leave a comment